How To Use New Media To Benefit Your Job Search

30 Jan

As a current student I realize sooner than later I will be faced with having to compete with millions of other grads for entry level positions in the working world, and I do understand how important it is to try and stand out, that is why I have been exploring my options with new media and how I can promote myself using it.

  • First off start networking yourself online using social networking sites like TwitterFacebookand LinkedIn. Each one has something different to offer but all share a simple purpose to NETWORK. Using social networking sites allow you to put yourself out there in front of the others, you can gain expert advice in your field of study or help someone else and by doing so gain connections. You get an opportunity to meet a large group of professionals that all share your same career aspirations that are willing to reach out and connect with you…how awesome is that
  • Next put yourself online by investing some time to make an online resume. Great sites to build your resume and profiles include Emurse,VisualCVCarbonmade and GigTide. There are others out there but these are the ones I have found fairly easy to navigate. Carbonmade is more for putting together a portfolio of work and the look of the finished product looks very impressive.

By making an online resume and portfolio you make it that much easier for anyone – including potential employers – to view what you have to offer. None the less it gives you an edge showing your future employer you are fully capable of using new technology methods to market yourself and potentially benefiting their business. By having your resume online it can also make it much easier for you to apply to positions by just sending the link, plus some companies give you the option of sending a website link instead of uploading a resume. You can look at my online resume at emurse to get an idea of what one looks like. I love the fact that my emurse website allows me to post writing samples along with examples of my work.

Think of the possibilities…Having your resume online could help you land a job maybe you weren’t necessarily looking for, maybe a company came across your resume and profile and liked what they saw…poof…new job. Well I like to dream I could be handed a job, who doesn’t?

Blogging about what you are passionate about can also grab a future employer’s attention. Blogging shows people a little bit more about who you are – interests, passions, personality etc. – Depending on what field you go into blogging may be an extremely important factor when coming to landing a position or it may not be relevant, but for someone like myself who is going into communications I feel that more and more employers are looking for people who do have their own blogs and most applications are now asking for your blog site or website address.

I also feel that blogging can allow you to show off your creativeness and depending on how much effort you put into it can set you apart from the rest of the job candidates.

FlickrYouTube and other online sites can also get you actively involved with future employers.

There are many ways to network yourself and using new media is an excellent way to do it. It helps you reach those people you wouldn’t necessarily be able to. In the competitive world of job hunting, especially for entry level individuals, it is extremely important to remember to network network NETWORK!

8 Responses to “How To Use New Media To Benefit Your Job Search”

  1. paulbalcerak February 22, 2010 at 11:51 pm #

    I keep telling people this and no one believes me. One of my great comforts amid a crazy recession and an industry in decline is knowing that if I get laid off, I’ve built up a ton of contacts through my own personal branding strategy who I can go to for help. I don’t want to lose my job, but I definitely wouldn’t be panicked if the worst happened.

    • Makenzie Marineau February 23, 2010 at 1:06 am #

      Great point! That is how I feel about finding work once I graduate. Actually at the moment I have made such a great network that I already have 3 jobs .. something must be working.

      • paulbalcerak February 23, 2010 at 5:27 am #

        That’s awesome. Just out of curiosity, how does your social media savvy stack up to that of your classmates? Do you guys have a pretty good new/social media program where you are?

      • Makenzie Marineau February 23, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

        Actually we don’t have a social media class. I am in the school’s new media comm program but it’s still young and unfortunately not given the resources it needs to thrive just yet. Compared to most other students in my program I have significantly jumped above them when it comes to social media, but it was all watch and learn for me. There are some who definitely have the hang of things and I could be wrong about that last comment, it’s just based on what I have seen. Did you have any sort of new media program where you attended?

      • paulbalcerak February 23, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

        Actually, I came up as a print-only guy and my attitude toward new media was decidedly curmudgeonly before I took on my current job (assistant editor of New Media) a couple years ago. I’m the same as you—watch and learn—and that style has suited me well.

        It’s great you’ve done so much on your own. One of the great advantages new media-savvy people have in this industry is that there are a lot of people who think the skills from 10-15 years ago are enough and they don’t need to learn anything new.

  2. Rachael March 2, 2010 at 3:06 am #

    Hi,
    I’m a marketing student from National University of Singapore. I’m now looking into a research on the lilnk between new/social media adn onoline job portal like Linkin. May i know if you have any literature review regarding the two ideas above? It would be great if you have some references for me:)
    Cheers

    • Makenzie Marineau March 9, 2010 at 7:04 pm #

      Rachael,

      I would be glad to help point you in some direction concerning this subject. I have a some links you can check out that should help you find articles related to this.

      http://chrisbrogan.com

      http://mashable.com

      http://www.careerealism.com

      All of these sites have great information regarding social media/marketing and the job market. Hope that helps! Let me know if you ever need help with anything else or just want to discuss something.

      -Makenzie

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Show Off | Online portfolios « Mak.com - January 30, 2010

    […] Writing for the Media Professional How To Use New Media To Benefit Your Job Search […]

Leave a Reply

