Internet Abstinence | Can I do it?!

11 Mar

Over the last summer I was enrolled in an online communications course, and as I was scrolling through some of my work I noticed a really interesting assignment: Students must sustain from the Internet. Scary I know. After reading through my response I noticed how great this assignment had been. On most days I am constantly in front of a computer using the internet. My computer is usually the first thing I see in the morning and the last thing I see before bed. Naturally my jobs, school and other interests keep me tightly connected to it. I am headed to my home town of Coos Bay to visit family and friends this final weekend of winter term, and I figure why not try and give the internet up one day this weekend. How hard could it be? I guess we will see. I will report back Sunday with a detailed encounter of my internet free day. I plan on following the same guidelines that I used for my school assignment:

Students must abstain from the Internet…ALL Internet interaction for one 24 hour period. You cannot use email, check Blackboard, see the sports scores, research, or do anything else on the Internet. If you fall off the wagon, you have to start all over again. WHAT HAPPENS? You should blog about your period of abstinence. How does it affect your ability to communicate? How does it affect how you spend your time? What do you do to replace your time on the Internet?

5 Responses to “Internet Abstinence | Can I do it?!”

  1. wolfshadesblog March 11, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

    Sounds like a terrible assignment! 🙂 Seriously – it’s intriguing, and certainly worth trying. I can’t imagine being away from the internet for a day (can’t do that at my job, as I’m in IT so there you go): maybe Saturday or Sunday.

    Good luck. Looking forward to see your thoughts on this afterward.

    • Makenzie Marineau March 11, 2010 at 6:28 pm #

      I know it does sound like a terrible idea! I plan on doing it this Saturday. Should be nice to take a day off from work 🙂

      Thanks for the comment and I look forward to sharing!

  2. juliadrewniak March 17, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

    It will be tough, but we have to consider the fact that the internet hasn’t always been around, even in our generation. Good luck- can’t wait to read how it went!

  3. Quinn Wilhelm May 27, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    If only more than 15 people could read about this!

  4. Margarita Olvera May 30, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    Incredibly awesome read. Honest..

Leave a Reply

