Blogging Breakdown

4 May

Along with taking a short break from the internet I took an even longer blogging hiatus. Not that I haven’t been busy blogging, but not for my own personal blog! This post is to get me back up and going.

In the past month I did take a break from the internet but it wasn’t as difficult as I thought. Long story short; my experiment of going internet-less was that I had no issues taking time away from my computer. At times I found myself wanting to ‘google’ something but I withstood the urge. I did however run into a problem when I was traveling in eastern Oregon for an Alternative Spring Break and was in a desperate need for a wifi signal for work. I was completely out of luck! Eventually I found a public library just in time to meet my deadlines. It’s easy to take for granted easy accessibility to the internet. In rural areas there simply isn’t always access.

In other news over the past month I was picked up as a blogger for All By Students. A great company founded by students for students. They are continuing to evolve to provide students with free products (including notebooks) that are informative, practical and make our lives as students easier. I look forward to working more with them.

Another note that I’m excited about are the 2010 Elections. I recently ran into this interactive map from The New York Times that shows you a good breakdown of what is going on including: the primary calendar, Senate races, House races, and Governors races. Don’t forget to get out and vote, but learn about the pressing issues at hand in your community first. It’s important to be an educated voter!

Blogging will now commence .. again.

3 Responses to “Blogging Breakdown”

  1. Kevin Jagger May 7, 2010 at 3:32 am #

    We are very excited to have you join the All By Students team Makenzie!

  2. JyoNah May 12, 2010 at 8:22 am #

    ABS? What fun. I met them a few weeks ago when they came through Eugene. I think they went up there to visit you next. 😀 Still have the sociable book in my bag. I aught to finish that.

    I support the choice to start blogging again. I go through those phases of non-blogging myself sometimes. Now is this where the piece on image editing in journalism is going to be, or is it going to be an AND thing?

    • Jonah May 13, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

      Of course, with that last sentence I actually meant to say “ABS” however, I commented from my phone, and the phone’s auto-correct snuck “AND” in there for me.

      Either way, I’m still curious.

Leave a Reply

