Many Faces of the Digital Divide

26 May

When listening to NPR’s On The Media tonight I heard the segment called The Digital Divide of Disability and I couldn’t wait to get home and share it. In the past year I took on a project with a group of students looking into the digital divide between senior citizens and tech, which you can read more about in previous posts herehere, and here. Plus you can take a look at our video production and website. As a tech obsessed student such as myself I hate to admit that I hadn’t thought much about the issue of people with disabilities using technology. This is a fascinating topic for discussion to me and I just had to share it. Take a listen to the segment.

On The Media – May 21, 2010

Knowbility is an organization that advocates for technology thatallows blind, deaf and otherwise disabled people to use the net.Knowbility’s Sharron Rush and Desiree Sturdevant talk about the challenges they face in raising awareness and changing the laws surrounding online usability.

* For an unknown reason I can’t seem to embed the audio player. To access the segment click here.

http://www.onthemedia.org/transcripts/2010/05/21/04
Leave a Reply

