Goals that have come and gone.

21 Dec

As most feel this time of year you think to yourself how the heck did I survive another year, and what the heck did I do? Is it really that time to rejoice another coming of another new year? Yes. Yes it is. With Christmas quickly encroaching on us all and the celebration of a new year soon to follow I of course must be cliche and look back on this year of 2010.

In January I wrote a blog post, “New Year for Dreams & Goals”, that helped me reflect on what I hoped for this past year.  Now it’s time to reflect on those goals and how, or if, I accomplished them.

My first goal for 2010 just happened to be write a blog post once a week. Well sadly this goal was not accomplished but it’s not a bad goal to strive for in the coming new year too.

Next I had imagined a summer full of travel, and that is exactly what I made happen. Being a passionate traveler I have a difficult time when I’m not on the road or soaring over uncharted land in a plane, and this summer put my ansy free spirit to ease for a short moment (already thinking of where I want to jet off to when I graduate). I was fortunate enough to visit my friend in Jacksonville, Florida but never made it up to Washington D.C. or New York. I also followed through on plans to study Spanish abroad, which I intelligently choose Oviedo, Spain. My time in Spain and traveling this summer was bliss. Things did go aloof at times, but isn’t that the joy of adventure. Spain is an amazing country that easily took my heart. I felt alive and at home. The Spanish take pride in their ability to love life, and I enjoyed every moment learning from them and their culture.

I did not make time for that art class I wanted to take, but I have spent many hours learning more and more about another new camera I picked up over the year: my father’s old Nikon D100. For a belated Christmas gift my father handed over his trusty Nikon sometime in April and since I’ve been snapping pictures like a mad women. It’s been a slow process in learning the little tid bits about the camera but I’m enjoying my end results. Photography class in 2011? I think so.

Okay my finances aren’t fully in order.

I’ve definitely been making more time for myself. After I ended an extremely busy school year in 2010 that consisted of four jobs and a full course load I spent time doing things that I loved. For example I traveled, took my dog hiking every moment I could, attempted to take on only a couple jobs at a time, and tried dating more often. Me time is a good thing.

Writing hasn’t been a part of my life as much as I had hoped this past year. Mostly because my confidence in this department has been lacking. I’ll turn this one around soon enough. A writing course is in my foreseeable future.

Graduation is soon, and I couldn’t be more thrilled.

Now on to 2011. I’ve so many new goals for the coming year swarming around in my head it will be hard to fit them all in one post.

2 Responses to “Goals that have come and gone.”

  1. AdEx, Lana January 12, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    Well, it seems 2010 was pretty busy but pretty interesting at the same time. Wish you good luck in 2011 and hope you’ll reach your new goals and your finances will get in order in 2011 :).

  2. Makenzie Marineau January 19, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    Thank you. Same to you in 2011. I’m hoping for good things to come this new year (especially with my finances!).

Leave a Reply

