Dear writer’s block …

25 Jan

Dear writer’s block, it’s not you, it’s me.

I’ve come to the conclusion you aren’t the one stopping me from reaching my full potential it’s my constant battle with trying to be perfect and my bad habit of overanalyzing EVERYTHING.

Everyday I wake up and tell myself today will be the day I break free from this creatively constraining relationship, but then I’m sitting next you again holding your hand for life support. I’m scared what my life will be without you. I’ll be forced to make decisions on my own and spill my thoughts and ideas freely. But I have to do what’s best for me. I’m cutting you out of my life — let’s hope I swim and not sink.

There I go again being miss negative! No. I will swim, and I will swim freely writing down paragraphs for all to hear. I’ve become negative. For an insane optimistic person like myself being negative is draining. I’m letting you go. I know you will find another depressed writer just waiting for you to cradle them. You will be fine without me.

Always, and never again,

Makenzie

Leave a Reply

